Skip Navigation

This table is used for column layout.
Harbor Management Commission Minutes 04/09/2013
Minutes of a Meeting of
The Old Lyme Harbor Management Commission
April 9, 2013

Members present Bob Doyen, Ned Farman, Dave Frederiks, Bill Harris, Mike Mackey, Mike Magee, Tom Meyer, Mike Moran, Harry Plaut, and Steven Ross.
Absent –Robert Falaguerra.

A quorum being present, Chairman Ross called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Clerk’s Report
The minutes of the January 8 and March 12, 2013 meetings were reviewed and accepted as submitted.

None received this month.

Treasurer’s Report
Bill Harris presented the Treasurer’s report, which was accepted for audit.  A copy of the report is on file with the minutes. He stated that he had paid the $800 bill for the dinghy dock removal but had then noted that the Town had paid this similar bill last year so he will call Nicole Stajduhar to be reimbursed. Bill also reported that he had deposited nine mooring permit fee checks.

Member Appointments
Steven Ross noted that Tom Meyer was appointed by the Board of Selectmen to replace Charlie Delinks’ unexpired term. That leaves the Commission with 9 Regular members and zero Alternate Members.

Pilgrim Landing
No change/report this month.

Dinghy Dock
Mike Mackey noted that the dinghy dock is not in the water yet.

Potential Public Access Site—West bank of Lt. River
Phase 2- Foot bridge across Lt. River—on hold.
Phase 3- Dock application—Steven Ross and Mike Magee walked the site to determine where to locate a ramp without a float. They were looking at the south side of the bulkhead but it could be steep to go from the bulkhead down. Keith Nielson visited the site later and sent the attached plan which includes a long ramp on the north side of the road down toward the bulkhead and long enough to meet ADA requirements. Members need to visit the site again to review how this plan could work as well as to evaluate the vegetation in the area.

Discussion of HMC Number of Members
Members continued their discussion of pros and cons for decreasing the number of regular members to seven and alternate members to two. After discussion, members decided to leave the numbers as stated in the Harbor Ordinance.

Harbor Master
Ned Farman and Steven Ross reviewed and discussed the Mooring Permit report with Mike Moran. All questions were resolved and the corrected report is attached. Members discussed specific moorings that were not paid for in 2012 and how Mike Moran will handle the situations. Mike Mackey will be pulling moorings still in the water. Members reviewed the policy that there is a $70 fine for not having a permit plus the cost to pull it.  

Steven Ross noted that to assist the Harbor Master and streamline the financial end of the mooring permit payment, Bill Harris will pick up mooring permit checks at the Town Hall and mark payment on the mooring application before leaving them for Mike Moran.
Dredging Study
Ned Farman reported that Tasks 1.1 Historical Review and 1.2 Hydrographic Condition Surveys have been completed.  The HMC is awaiting the completion of Task 1.3 Determine Desirable Navigation Channel Depths and Widths. Ned will call Coastline Consulting for a status report. Once this report is received, it will be reviewed by the HMC before review by the Selectwoman, DOT and DEEP.

Dock Applications
No new applications were received.  Bob Doyen will work on filing appropriate paperwork to activate DEEP to review his dock application. The Sedgewicks are still waiting for a meeting with DEEP regarding their application.  Bonnie Reemsnyder has been in contact with DEEP and Keith Nielson regarding the Old Lyme Fire Dock’s progress.

DEEP Violations
No violations reported this month.

CT Harbor Management Association
Bill Harris stated that the check for the CT Harbor Management Association banquet that was cancelled was never cashed. Steven Ross and Bill Harris will contact them to return the check.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:47 PM.

Submitted by:
Janet S. Cody, Clerk

52 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371  (860) 434-1605

Town Hall Hours  Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM